The 2018 British Columbia Lieutenant Governor’s Wine Awards

Entries to the 2018 British Columbia Lieutenant Governor’s Wine Awards are now CLOSED.

This year’s wine entries will face the following acclaimed judges:

• Anthony Gismondi – Vancouver, British Columbia
• John Schreiner – Vancouver, British Columbia
• DJ Kearney – Vancouver, British Columbia
• David Lawrason – Toronto, Ontario
• Alistair Veen – Surrey, British Columbia
• Janet Dorozynski – Ottawa, Ontario
• Brent Muller – Victoria, British Columbia
• Julianna Hayes – Kelowna, British Columbia
• Troy Townsin – Victoria, British Columbia
• Sid Cross – Vancouver, British Columbia
• Eric Degerman – Kennewick, Washington
• Ben MacPhee-Sigurdson – Winnipeg, Manitoba

You can learn more about this year’s judges here.

In 2018, the Office of the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, with support from the Government House Foundation, and The Okanagan Wine Festivals Society announced a new partnership in recognizing the best of British Columbia wines with the creation of the British Columbia Lieutenant Governor’s Wine Awards.

The British Columbia Lieutenant Governor’s Wine Awards replaced the Lieutenant Governor’s Awards for Excellence in B.C. Wine and the B.C. Wine Awards. The new competition is open to all licensed wineries in British Columbia, including fruit wines and mead. Bronze, silver and gold medals are awarded, with the top 1% of medal winners receiving the Lieutenant Governor’s platinum medal and with one wine receiving the Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Best Wine in British Columbia.