As part of celebrations in honour of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee, the Honourable Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, has awarded the Lieutenant Governor’s Arts and Music Awards.

The Awards

These one-time awards recognize individuals, groups, and organizations throughout British Columbia who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, creativity, community engagement, and commitment through fostering and mentoring others in the fields of Visual Arts, Music or Performance. The Lieutenant Governor’s Arts and Music Awards celebrates artists whose work promotes social equity, equality, inclusion, and enhances the well-being of communities of all sizes and citizens of all ages.

The Recipients


Performing Arts
Alexandra Lainfiesta – Vancouver
Amanda Shatzko – Vernon/North Okanagan (UBC)
C.E. Gatchalian – Vancouver
Valerie Sing Turner – Vancouver

Don Alder – Vancouver
Jodi Proznick – Port Coquitlam/Metro Vancouver
Joelle Rabu – Nanaimo
Timothy Vernon – Victoria
Ruby Singh – Vancouver
Russell Wallace – Vancouver

Visual Arts
Melany Nugent-Noble – Kelowna/Central Okanagan


Performing Arts
Ballet Kelowna – Kelowna, Central Okanagan
Belfry Theatre – Victoria
Canadian Heritage Arts Society/Canadian College of Performing Arts – Victoria
Dancers of Damelahamid – West Vancouver
Firehall Arts Centre – Vancouver
Gate House Theatre – Port McNeill/Mt. Waddington R.D
Vancouver International Bhangra Celebration Society / 5X Festival – Vancouver

Creative Okanagan – Kelowna/Central Okanagan
Victoria Conservatory of Music – Victoria

Visual Arts
Coquitlam Place des Arts Society – Coquitlam/Metro Vancouver
Indian Summer Arts Society – Vancouver
Island Mountain Arts – Wells/Cariboo Regional District
Skeena Salmon Arts Festival Society – Terrace/Kitimat-Stikine RD
The Reach Gallery Museum – Abbotsford/Fraser Valley
Victoria Arts Council – Victoria
Ptarmigan Arts Society Music – Pender Island/Capital Region
Inclusion Services Program – Jewish Community Centre – Vancouver

Award and Selection Committee

Each successful nominee received a certificate of acknowledgement and a monetary gift recognizing their achievement.

The selection committee included representation from visual arts and music, and representatives of the Platinum Jubilee Awards Committee and Government House Foundation.

Lieutenant Governor’s Arts and Music Awards Jury:

  • George Harris, Curator and Artistic Director, Two Rivers Gallery in Prince George
  • Geraldine Hinton, Government House Foundation, Board of Trustees Representative
  • Howard Jang, Executive and Artistic Director, ArtSpring on Salt Spring Island
  • Gary Karr, Honorary Governor, Victoria Conservatory of Music in Victoria
  • Jacques Lemay, Adjunct Professor, University of Victoria, Performing Arts, and Co-Founder, Canadian College of Performing Arts in Victoria
  • Carleen Thomas, Chancellor, Emily Carr University of Art and Design in Vancouver
  • Terri-Lynn Williams-Davidson, Musician, Author, and Artist, Raven Calling Productions, based in Haida Gwaii